Week 1, Recipe 5 – Grilled Chicken and Zucchini Salad

There are a few foods that make me think summer. All of them are grilled in my book. When I found zucchini and mesculin mix in my box this week, I knew that a summer salad was on the menu! I love veggies, so the more, the better! I added leftover caprese salad to the mix as well. Add in some grilled chicken, and you have a great, healthy salad for summer. From my CSA box, I used the mesculin mix, zucchini, basil and chives.

Grilled Chicken and Zucchini Salad
Serves 4

Ingredients
1 lb. chicken breast tenders
olive oil
4 T. Basil, chopped and separated
3 cloves of garlic, sliced
1 zucchini, quartered lengthwise
1 vidalia onion, quartered and separated
1 bunch mesculin mix
1/2 cucumber, sliced
handful of dried cranberries
1 T. chopped chives
salt and pepper to taste

Instructions
Marinate the chicken overnight in basil, olive oil and garlic. I got this recipe from a fantastic blog called For The Love of Cooking. She always has great, easy and healthy ideas for weekly menus.

Coat the onion chunks and zucchini in olive oil. Grill onions, zucchini and chicken until done. Toss mesculin mix, cucumbers, cranberries, chives, basil and salt and pepper. Top with chicken, onions and zucchini. Drizzle your favorite dressing – or make your own! I combined equal parts olive oil and balsamic vinegar to make my own balsamic vinaigrette! Enjoy!

This entry was posted in Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Week 1, Recipe 5 – Grilled Chicken and Zucchini Salad

  1. Tammy says:

    I love to make my own vinaigrette. In fact, I really can’t eat dressing from the store any longer.

Leave a Reply

